The school is organised into the Foundation Unit (3-5 years of age), Key Stage 1 (5-7 years of age) and Key Stage 2 (7-11 years of age).

The Foundation Unit

The Foundation Unit is the home of the Nursery Class and the Reception Class. Three rooms – Kingfisher (F2: nursery), Robin & Blackbird (F1: reception) share adjoining buildings surrounded by a large, secure garden. Kingfisher provides part-time places for children following their third birthday. Robin and Blackbird provides full-time places following a child’s 4th birthday.

Key Stage 1 Classes

Children move into Year 1 in the September after their 5th birthday and will move into Year 2 in the following September. The children are placed into one of two balanced classes which will not contain more than 30 children. Teachers work together in Year Group Teams sharing ideas, strengths and expertise to teach these classes. The National Curriculum is taught from this point. At the end of Key Stage 1 children are assessed in English, maths and science. These results are reported to parents. In Key Stage 1 a number of schemes are used to teach phonics (Letters & Sounds, Phonic Bug) and reading (Bug Club, Oxford Reading Tree).

Links to Key Stage 1 Class Pages


Key Stage 2 Classes

Key Stage 2 consists of Years 3, 4, 5 and 6. There are two classes in each year making eight Key Stage 2 classes in all. Teachers work in Year Group Teams to teach these classes. At the end of Key Stage 2 more statutory tests take place. Children are assessed in English, maths and maybe in science. These results are reported to parents and are published on this website. Within each class children are taught individually, in small groups and as part of the whole class. Children are taught at a number of different ability levels – the more able are stretched in more demanding tasks and those who need it receive the support they require to make progress appropriate to their learning needs. A number of reading schemes are used in KS2 including Rapid Readers and Wolf Hill.

Links to Key Stage 2 Class Pages

Lower School and Upper School

To help with the day to day organisation of the school, some non-curricular activities, such as lunch and play times, are split between Lower and Upper School. Lower School consists of Years 1, 2 and 3; Upper School of Years 4, 5 and 6.